Smashing Stats: Canada Open 2024

YONEX Canada Open 2024 is the closing HSBC BWF World Tour tournament before the Paris 2024 Olympic Games.

Learn more about this Super 500 event.

  • England were the last to win all five categories in a year (2004). Denmark are the only nation to have seeded players in every discipline this time.
  • Their No.1 men’s pair, Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen are the sole top seeds to have aced their event.
  • If they defend their title, they will become the first back-to-back men’s doubles champions since Canadians William Milroy/Mike Beres (2006-2007).
  • Victory for third seeds Ben Lane/Sean Vendy instead will make England the most successful in the department in tournament history. They lead the all-time table on nine victories, same as Canada and Malaysia.
  • Denmark’s longest intervals are in men’s singles and mixed doubles, last winning in 1993. Their players are seeded first in both (Anders Antonsen, Mathias Christiansen/Alexandra Boje).
  • Japan have produced winners at four of the last five Canada Opens.
  • In 2023, for the second time in four editions, their players took home three titles – women’s singles and doubles and mixed doubles.
  • Except Michelle Li, no player or pair have won consecutive crowns from the beginning of the 2010s.
  • Li is also the only shuttler to win three on the spin this century (2014-2016).
  • Glory in Calgary will make her Canada Open’s most successful women’s singles star. She is currently tied on five titles with compatriot Marjorie Shedd.
  • While Hong Kong China never topped the men’s singles podium, they can count on seventh seed Ng Ka Long Angus this season. Ng finished runner-up twice (2014, 2015).
  • Indonesia’s two seeded mixed pairs – Dejan Ferdinansyah/Gloria Emanuelle Widjaja (2) and Praveen Jordan/Serena Kani (7) could end their country’s 14-year wait if they triumph. Taufik Hidayat was the last Indonesian titlist (2010).
  • Thailand are yet to win women’s doubles but possess fourth seeds Laksika Kanlaha/Phatamais Muenwong.

Standout stat: Only Australian and Japanese pairs won the category at the six most recent editions.

Gronya Somerville and Setyana Mapasa as winners in 2016. They triumphed again three years later.

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor