Smashing Stats: Denmark Open 2023

Read these fascinating facts about the Super 750 VICTOR Denmark Open 2023.

  • This is the first edition to feature defending champions of all five categories since 2019.
  • Denmark are the most successful nation with 138 total titles across the five disciplines.
  • The hosts have not completed a sweep since 1955. China were the last to do so in 2014.
  • Tine Baun remains the last local women’s singles champion (2009).
  • Women’s doubles however, is the category the Danes have gone the longest without winning (Helene Kirkegaard/Rikke Olsen in 2001).
  • Indonesia on the other hand, have not toasted a men’s singles champion since Simon Santoso in 2009. Two seeds Anthony Sinisuka Ginting (2) and Jonatan Christie (5) lead their charge this time.
  • If they attain glory, top seeds Chen Qing Chen/Jia Yi Fan will be the first Chinese women’s pair since Lin Ying/Guan Weizhen in 1989 to win consecutive titles.
  • A successful title defence for Zheng Si Wei/Huang Ya Qiong meanwhile, will make them the tournament’s second most successful mixed pair this century after Joachim Fischer Nielsen/Christinna Pedersen (2008-2009, 2011, 2016). Zheng/Huang also won in 2018.
  • Ma Jin was the last to win in two departments at the same edition (women’s and mixed doubles in 2012). Seo Seung Jae, seeded in men’s and mixed doubles, could emulate her.
  • Among traditional badminton nations, Malaysia’s wait to top the podium has been the lengthiest – seven years since Goh V Shem/Tan Wee Kiong’s men’s doubles title.
  • The sole country waiting for their maiden Denmark Open champion but have seeded entry are Spain (Carolina Marin).
  • Starting 2009, only pairs from China, Japan and Korea won women’s doubles.
  • India have never taken men’s doubles. New world No.1s and Asian Games gold medallists Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty are seeded third in Odense.
  • With a third success, Tai Tzu Ying will become the women’s singles player from Asia with second most titles after Japanese legend Hiroe Yuki, whose fourth victory came in 1977.

Standout Stat: Tai is the only athlete from Chinese Taipei to triumph on Danish soil. She triumphed in 2018 and 2019.

Tai defeated Nozomi Okuhara in the 2019 final.

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor