Spain Masters: Attention on Lin Chun-Yi, Miyazaki

Three of four winners of this year’s HSBC BWF World Tour Super 300 tournaments feature in the men’s singles draw of the Madrid Spain Masters 2024 by IBERDROLA.

Sixth seed Lin Chun-Yi, who won the YONEX Swiss Open 2024 on Sunday, will face fellow lefthander Lei Lan Xi in the first round. Lin has steadily risen up the ranks and is one of the players to watch this season.

Lin celebrating his title in Basel.

The prominent name in his quarter is his senior compatriot Chou Tien Chen, who he had beaten in Sunday’s final in a thriller. Chou won the first Super 300 of the year, the Thailand Masters in February.

The other Super 300 winner of this year in the draw is German Open winner Christo Popov, who is in the same quarter as second seed Loh Kean Yew.

In women’s singles, attention will be on Orleans Masters champion Tomoka Miyazaki, who created a sensation last week at the Swiss Open beating Pusarla V Sindhu and Aya Ohori on her way to the semifinals.

Second seed Pusarla gave glimpses of her best form at the All England, and will hope to go deep in the draw in Madrid, particularly in the absence of top 10 players. The draw opened up following the withdrawal of home star Carolina Marin, who won back-to-back tournaments the last two weeks.

Marin has opted to sit this edition out.

Apart from Marin, prominent withdrawals included Lakshya Sen, Kenta Nishimoto, Busanan Ongbamrungphan, Swiss Open winners Ben Lane/Sean Vendy, Margot Lambert/Anne Tran, Marcus Ellis/Lauren Smith and Jiang Zheng Bang/Wei Ya Xin.

Promotions and Withdrawals

Men’s Singles: Jonatan Matias, Jeon Hyeok Jin, Kalle Koljonen, Mads Christophersen, Huang Yu Kai (in place of Alex Lanier, Arnaud Merkle, Ng Tze Yong, Kenta Nishimoto, Lakshya Sen)

Women’s Singles: Komang Ayu Cahya Dewi, Manami Suizu, Ines Lucia Castillo, Liang Ting Yu, Huang Yu-Hsun (in place of Malvika Bansod, Yvonne Li, Carolina Marin, Busanan Ongbamrungphan, Lianne Tan, Qi Xu Fei)

Men’s Doubles: Chen Bo Yang/Liu Yang, Ming Che Lu/Tang Kai Wei (in place of Ben Lane/Sean Vendy, Ong Yew Sin/Teo Ee Yi, Jones Ralfy Jansen/Kenneth Neumann)

Women’s Doubles: Julia Meyer/Leona Michalski, Paulina H/Kornelia Marczak, Husina Kobugabe/Gladys Mbabazi, Tiffany Ho/Gronya Somerville, Fadilah Shamika Rafi/Tracy Naluwooza, Amalie Cecile Kudsk/Signe Schulz, Wang Ting Ge/Wang Yi Duo (in place of Ashwini Bhat/Shikha Gautam, Catherine Choi/Josephine Wu, Debora Jille/Cheryl Seinen, Linda Efler/Isabel Lohau, Setyana Mapasa/Angela Yu, Priya Konjengbam/Shruti Mishra, Margot Lambert/Anne Tran, Natasja Anthonisen/Alyssa Tirtosentono)

Mixed Doubles: Chen Cheng Kuan/Hsu Yin-Hui, Patrick Schiel/Franziska Volkmann, Chen Zhi Ray/Yang Ching Tun, Jafar Hidayatullah/Alsyah Pranata (in place of Marcus Ellis/Lauren Smith, Jiang Zheng Bang/Wei Ya Xin, Mark Lamsfuss/Isabel Lohau, Ty Lindeman/Josephine Wu, Jones Ralfy Jansen/Thuc Phuong Nguyen)

Updated Draw

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor