Smashing Stats: Swiss Open 2024

The 69-year-old Swiss Open is up next on the European leg of the HSBC BWF World Tour.

Here are some fascinating information about the Super 300 event.

  • Denmark are the most successful with 55 titles across all disciplines.
  • China, on 52, are the only nation within striking distance.
  • Five different countries have aced each singles discipline at the last five editions.
  • One of them is Spaniard Carolina Marin, the only top seed this year to have won her event (2021).
  • India are without a women’s doubles titlists but have two seeded pairs in Tanisha Crasto/Ashwini Ponnappa (No.6) and Treesa Jolly/Gayatri Gopichand Pullela (8).
  • Two of their seven winners – Srikanth Kidambi (2015) and Pusarla V. Sindhu (2022) – are in the draw this year.
  • Six other returning previous podium toppers are Koki Watanabe, Pornpawee Chochuwong, Dechapol Puavaranukroh/Sapsiree Taerattanachai and Thom Gicquel/Delphine Delrue.
  • Chai Biao/Hong Wei were the last to win successive times in 2014. Watanabe and Chochuwong stand to emulate them.
  • If they attain glory, Watanabe and Chochuwong will also be the first from their countries to be winners twice in a row.
  • Korea are going through a mini-drought, with their last crown coming in 2019 via women’s pair Chang Ye Na/Jung Kyung Eun.
  • Kim Ga Eun is seeded sixth in women’s singles, incidentally the only category they are yet to win.
  • Likewise, top seeds Apriyani Rahayu/Siti Fadia Silva Ramadhanti are a good shout to win Indonesia their first women’s doubles title.
  • Malaysia are on a 15-year barren spell in men’s singles and doubles, having not celebrated titlists since Lee Chong Wei-Koo Kien Keat/Tan Boon Heong’s 2009 triumphs.
  • Seeds Lee Zii Jia (1), Man Wei Chong/Tee Kai Wun (6) and Goh Sze Fei/Nur Izzuddin (8) have the potential to break that duck.
  • There are also five Malaysian pairs, including third seeds Chen Tang Jie/Toh Ee Wei and eighth seeds Goh Soon Huat/Shevon Jemie Lai in mixed doubles, a category they have never won.

Standout Stat: Men’s singles is the department that has not seen its holder defend the title the longest. It’s been 59 years since Dane Tage Nielsen won consecutive editions (1964-1965).

Watanabe can emulate Nielsen by defending his crown.

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor