Smashing Stats: Canada Open 2023

After a week’s break, Calgary provides the stage for the resumption of the HSBC BWF World Tour at YONEX Canada Open 2023. The 66-year-old tournament, previously a Super 100, now makes its debut as a Super 500 event.

Enjoy reading while waiting for the action to start.

  • England were the last to win all five categories in a year (2004). Japan are the only nation to have seeded players in every discipline this time.
  • None of the starting top seedsAkane Yamaguchi, Takuro Hoki/Yugo Kobayashi, Chiharu Shida/Nami Matsuyama or Yuta Watanabe/Arisa Higashinohave aced their event.
  • If Ayato Endo/Yuta Takei defend their title, they will become the first back-to-back men’s doubles champions since Canadians William Milroy/Mike Beres (2006-2007).
  • Only Australian and Japanese pairs have won the women’s doubles at the five most recent editions.
  • Japan’s longest interval is in mixed doubles. They have not come first since Ryota Taohata/Ayaka Takahashi in 2012.
  • Except Michelle Li, no player or pair have won consecutive editions from the beginning of last decade (2010).
  • Li is also the sole shuttler to win three on the spin this century (2014-2016).
  • Repeat glory for the reigning champion will make her Canada Open’s most successful women’s singles star. She is currently tied on five titles with compatriot Marjorie Shedd.
  • A Pusarla V. Sindhu victory will see her become the first Indian women’s singles winner in tournament history.
  • While Hong Kong China never topped the men’s singles podium, they can count on two seeds – Lee Cheuk Yiu (6) and Ng Ka Long Angus (8). Ng finished runner-up twice (2014, 2015).
  • Mohammad Ahsan/Hendra Setiawan, the only Indonesians competing, will end their country’s 13-year wait if they emerge triumphant. Taufik Hidayat was Indonesia’s last titlist (2010).
  • Their drought in men’s doubles is longer – it was in 1994 that Ade Sutrisna/Candra Wijaya took top prize.
  • Thailand have two seeded women’s pairs – Rawinda Prajongjai/Jongkolphan Kititharakul and Benyapa Aimsaard/Nuntakarn Aimsaard – but have never won the category.
  • They have also not secured men’s singles, in which Kunlavut Vitidsarn is the highest remaining seed (No.2), for almost half a decade. Bandid Jaiyen was champion in 1976.

Standout Stat: The two most recent instalments have seen nine different flags on the top step of the podium.

Ayako Sakuramoto/Rena Miyaura are one of two Japanese winners in the last two years.

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor