Smashing Stats: DANISA Denmark Open 2020

The wait is finally over and the DANISA Denmark Open 2020 will mark the return of the HSBC BWF World Tour today following a seven-month COVID-19 enforced pause. Here are some fascinating facts about the Super 750 tournament.

  • Denmark is the most successful nation with 136 total titles across the five disciplines.
  • The host nation, however, has not completed a clean sweep since 1955. China were the last to do so in 2014.
  • The legendary Tonny Ahm is the competition’s most decorated player with 19 titles.
  • Malaya’s Ong Hock Sim was the first non-European player to be champion. He took the men’s singles and men’s doubles (with Englishman F.M. Creen) crowns at the third edition in 1937.
  • Record for most consecutive title wins belongs to Denmark’s men’s singles icon Morten Frost, who triumphed seven times from 1980-1986.
  • Chinese ace Chen Long is the only athlete to complete a hattrick this century (2013-2015).
  • Fourth seeds Mark Lamsfuss/Isabel Herttrich have the chance to end Germany’s 49-year wait for success in mixed doubles. Wolfgang Bochow/Marieluise Wackerow were the last Germans to taste success in 1971.
  • Denmark are going through a mini-drought, with their last title coming in 2016 via mixed doubles duo Joachim Fischer Nielsen/Christinna Pedersen.
  • Women’s singles sixth seed Beiwen Zhang can become only the second American since David Freeman in 1948 to stand atop the podium.
  • Tine Rasmussen remains the last local women’s singles champion (2009), while no men’s singles shuttler has won the title since Jan O Jorgensen in 2010.
  • Jorgensen (2010), Kidambi Srikanth (2017) and Yuki Fukushima/Sayaka Hirota (2018) are the only former winners competing at this edition.
  • If they attain glory, Fukushima/Hirota will be the first female Japanese shuttlers since Atsuko Tokuda in 1987 to be champions more than once.
  • Women’s singles third seed Carolina Marin has not made it past the semifinal stage in her five appearances at the tournament.
  • Marcus Ellis/Lauren Smith are the highest seeded (No.2) English players. Another mixed pair, Anthony Clark/Donna Kellogg, are the last (2006) from their country to be victorious in Denmark.

Standout Stat: With no Indonesian, Chinese, Malaysian and Korean participation, the men’s doubles will see winners from another nation for the first time in 10 years.

Indonesians (from left) Marcus Fernaldi Gideon, Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo, Hendra Setiawan and Muhammad Ahsan contested last year’s final.

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor