Smashing Stats: Yonex All England Open 2020

The year’s first BWF World Tour Super 1000 event is upon us. Here are some fascinating facts about the prestigious tournament.


  • The inaugural edition only consisted doubles events; singles were introduced a year later.
  • Until 1977, the competition was considered the unofficial World Championships.
  • It has been played at eight different venues, with the longest run being at the Wembley Arena (1957-1993).
  • Sir George Thomas (right) is the most successful player with 21 titles.
  • Thomas also holds the record for most men’s doubles titles – nine.
  • Record for most consecutive title wins belongs to Indonesian men’s singles great Rudy Hartono –seven (1968-1974).
  • No player has more singles crowns than American Judy Devlin. Ten is her magic number.


  • Chinese men’s singles ace Lin Dan and women’s pair of Gao Ling/Huang Sui are the most decorated with six titles each.
  • Gao/Huang are also the last players to win six consecutive titles (2001-2006).
  • No men’s singles or doubles player has won three titles in a row.
  • Li Yongbo/Tian Bingyi is the last men’s doubles pair to triumph three times (1987, 1988, 1991).
  • Five players have done the “double double” (winning two consecutive titles twice) – Yu Yang, Chung So Young, Hwang Hye Young, Chung Myung Hee and Park Joo Boong.
  • China’s women’s doubles player Zhang Jiewen holds the unfortunate record of playing in the most finals without winning. She lost in six with two different partners.
  • Mixed pair Nathan Robertson/Gail Emms are the last home shuttlers to be victorious. They won in 2005.
  • Europe has not had a men’s singles winner since Peter Gade in 1999. Fellow Danish Viktor Axelsen came close last year but lost to Kento Momota.

Standout Stat: Either or both Lin Dan and Lee Chong Wei contested 14 of the 15 finals between 2004 and 2018.

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor