Smashing Stats: French Open 2024

We take a look at some interesting facts about YONEX French Open 2024 as the Adidas Arena, venue for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games, welcomes the Super 750 tournament.

  • With seeds in every category, China again have the best possibility of a sweep after doing it in 1989 and 2002.
  • If they attain glory, women’s doubles fourth seeds Liu Sheng Shu/Tan Ning and mixed doubles fifth seeds Jiang Zhen Bang/Wei Ya Xin will be the maiden Chinese pairs to win consecutive titles in French Open history.
  • Jiang/Wei also stand to become the first back-to-back mixed doubles champions since Eddy Choong/Queenie Webber in 1952. It is the longest department not to see the holders defend their title.
  • Otherwise, Zheng Si Wei could tie the legendary Sir George Thomas as the most successful male player in the discipline with his fourth title.
  • Chen Qing Chen is the last to bag two crowns at the same edition (women’s and mixed doubles in 2016). Seo Seung Jae, seeded third in men’s and mixed doubles, could emulate her.
  • Women’s singles fifth seed Carolina Marin is the only Spaniard to triumph on French soil (2015).
  • Hosts France have not had success since Pi Hong Yan (women’s singles), Elodie Eymard/Weny Rahmawati (women’s doubles) and Nabil Lasmari (mixed doubles with Indonesian Eny Widiowati) won in 2005.
  • Pi is also the most recent in her category to win three titles (2003-2005). He Bing Jiao, winner in 2016 and 2022, stands to follow in her footsteps.
  • Women’s singles, where Gregoria Mariska Tunjung is seeded seventh, is an event Indonesia are yet to celebrate a champion in.
  • Keeping his title will make Jonatan Christie only the second Indonesian after Ferry Sonneville (1957, 1960) to take home the men’s singles title more than once.
  • Thailand are going through a drought, having not tasted glory after 2010, when women’s pair Duanganong Aroonkesorn/Kunchala Voravichitchaikul and mixed pair Sudket Prapakamol/Saralee Thoungthongkam emerged victorious. They have seeds in men’s singles and mixed doubles this time.
  • Their solitary men’s singles victory however, came 62 years ago through Charoen Wattanasin.
  • Japan’s longest wait is in men’s doubles; their only triumph in 2000 courtesy of Keita Masuda/Tadashi Otsuka. Sixth seeds Takuro Hoki/Yugo Kobayashi are their best hope for a top of the podium finish.
  • Having ended their HSBC BWF World Tour title wait at Denmark Open last year, Aaron Chia/Soh Wooi Yik will hope to now become the first men’s pair from Malaysia in 20 years (Gan Teik Chai/Koo Kien Keat in 2004) to ace the tournament.

Standout Stat: The last six editions have seen men’s doubles winners from six different teams.

The streak started in 2017 with Lee Jhe Huei and Lee Yang.

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor