Smashing Stats: HYLO Open 2023

Here are some of the things you need to know about the Super 300, 35-year-old HYLO Open 2023.

  • Germany (1992) and Denmark (1996) are two nations to have done a sweep.
  • Only Chinese Taipei have seeded players in every discipline this time.
  • However, they are yet to produce winners outside the men’s singles and doubles.
  • It’s been 10 years since Germans won the tournament. Mixed pair Michael Fuchs/Birgit Michels did so in 2013.
  • Seeded local hopes this year are Yvonne Li (women’s singles) and Mark Lamsfuss/Marvin Seidel (men’s doubles).
  • Chou Tien Chen is the sole male player to win three straight editions (2012-2014) this century.
  • Seeded top, Chou will be HYLO Open’s most successful men’s singles player with a fourth title.
  • Rehan Naufal Kusharjanto/Lisa Ayu Kusumawati are the only defending champions returning.
  • If successful, the seventh seeds will become the first mixed pair since Michael Keck/Karen Stechmann in 1994 to retain their title.
  • It’s the longest category not to see the holders defend their crown.
  • Chou, Kusharjanto and Kusumawati are three of 17 former winners in the draw.
  • Ng Ka Long Angus, Toma Junior Popov, Kirsty Gilmour, He Ji Ting, Ong Yew Sin/Teo Ee Yi, Zhang Shu Xian, Gabriela Stoeva/Stefani Stoeva, Marcus Ellis/Lauren Smith, Selena Piek, Mathias Christiansen/Alexandra Boje are the others.
  • The Stoevas (2018, 2020) and Ellis (men’s doubles with Chris Langridge and mixed doubles with Smith in 2018) are multiple winners.
  • He, Zhang and Piek are back alongside new partners. Chen Qing Chen in 2016 was the most recent to come back and triumph with a different player (Jia Yi Fan). She had combined with Zheng Si Wei to the mixed doubles title two years earlier.
  • Piek, and former women’s doubles sidekick Eefje Muskens, are the last Dutch players to top the podium.
  • This year, she is seeded fifth with Robin Tabeling in mixed doubles, where top seeds Thom Gicquel/Delphine Delrue hope to become France’s first ever doubles titlists.
  • Meanwhile, Indonesia, who have never had a winning women’s pair, count on seeds Apriyani Rahayu/Siti Fadia Silva Ramadhanti (second) and Febriana Dwipuji Kusuma/Amallia Cahaya Pratiwi (fifth).
  • On the other hand, through fourth seed Ng Tze Yong, Malaysia look to celebrate their maiden men’s singles champion.

Standout Stat: In the last 10 years, women’s singles winners have only come from Thailand, China, Japan and Scotland.

Gilmour celebrating winning the tournament then known as Saarlorlux Open in 2020.

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor