Smashing Stats: Korea Open 2023

We take a look at some interesting statistics as the port city of Yeosu welcomes the Korea Open after 21 years.

  • Akane Yamaguchi (2016) and Fajar Alfian/Muhammad Rian Ardianto (2019) are the only top seeds to have won their events.
  • Of the total 29 editions, hosts Korea failed to produce titlists at just five – 2006, 2012, 2014, 2017 and 2018.
  • On 47 titles, they are the sole nation this year that can overtake China (50) as the most successful team.
  • Korea are also one of three countries to taste success in all five disciplines, the other two being China and Indonesia.
  • China have won at least one event every season starting 2010.
  • And 63 per cent of the mixed doubles finals from then have gone their way (seven titles in 11).
  • China, however, have not toasted men’s doubles winners since Cai Yun/Fu Haifeng triumphed in 2012.
  • For Japan, a category they have never conquered is mixed doubles, in which third seeds Yuta Watanabe/Arisa Higashino are their biggest bets.
  • India’s solitary title came via Pusarla V. Sindhu in 2017 but they possess seeds in men’s singles (No.5 Prannoy H. S.) and men’s doubles (No.3 Satwiksairaj Rankireddy/Chirag Shetty).
  • Malaysia only have seen success in men’s singles and mixed doubles. In men’s doubles this year, they count on two seeded pairs – No.4 Aaron Chia/Soh Wooi Yik and No.6 Ong Yew Sin/Teo Ee Yi.
  • Only country with seeded entry waiting for a maiden Korea Open titlist are Singapore (men’s singles No.4 Loh Kean Yew).
  • If she attains glory, An Se Young will be the first home women’s singles player to be champion twice in a row since the legendary Bang Soo Hyun in 1994.
  • Camilla Martin was the last shuttler in the discipline to accomplish the feat (2001).
  • Women’s doubles aside, the other categories crowned different nations as winners at each of the last four instalments.

Standout Stat: All seeded pairs in women’s doubles are either from China, Korea or Japan – also the countries that have aced the department at the five most recent editions.

Nitya Krishinda Maheswari/Greysia Polii were the last pair not from the three countries to win in 2015.

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor