Syed Modi International Badminton Championships 2018

20 - 25 November

Lucknow, India

Syed Modi International Badminton Championships 2018 History & Historical Results

The Syed Modi International Badminton Championship is a HSBC BWF World Tour Super 300 tournament.  The tournament was inaugurated by the Uttar Pradesh Badminton Association (UPBA) in 1991 as the ‘Syed Modi Memorial Badminton Tournament' in memory of the 1982 Commonwealth Games men’s singles champion Syed Modi.  Held from 1991 to 2003 as a national level tournament, it was then hosted as an international tournament in 2004, but did not continue being hosted until it became part of the BWF Grand Prix level series in 2009. From then on it was hosted annually as an international tournament and was upgraded to a BWF Grand Prix Gold tournament in 2011 where it has been hosted in Lucknow since then.  

The tournament is one of two HSBC BWF World Tour tournaments being hosted in India, with the other being the India Open, a Super 500 level tournament.
  Local heroes have won events in the international since 2009. Saina Nehwal, the Commonwealth Games Champion won the women’s singles in the 2009, 2014 & 2015 editions. In 2017, the tournament had an all-Indian semi-final with Sameer Verma taking the men’s single title.  

In 2017, P. V. Sindhu continued her world class performances and took the women’s singles title and Pranaav Chopra/Reddy N. Sikki took the mixed double title.


26 - 31 January 2016, Lucknow, India


21 - 26 January 2014, Lucknow , India