TOYOTA Thailand Open 2018

10 - 15 July

Nimibutr Stadium , Bangkok, Thailand

TOYOTA Thailand Open 2018 History & Historical Results

The Thailand Open is a HSBC BWF World Tour Super 500 tournament and is one of only seven Super 500 level tournaments. Held since 1984 as an open international championships, all of the editions of the Thailand Open have been hosted at the Nimibutr Stadium in Bangkok except for 2011 & 2015.  

The Thailand Open is one of two HSBC BWF World Tour tournaments hosted in Thailand, the other being the Princess Sirivannavari Thailand Masters, a HSBC BWF World Tour Super 300 tournament.

From 2007 to 2016, the Thailand Open was a BWF Grand Prix Gold level tournament and attracted world class players. The tournament has been an important tournament for Thai players who have helped to promote the sport and increase the television and media coverage in Thailand.

The Thailand Open has showcased home grown talent with local heroes reaching the podium throughout its history. Sompol Kukasemkij won the men’s singles title in 1990 followed by Boonsak Ponsana in 2004. Tanongsak Saensomboonsk won the men’s singles title in 2016 with her compatriots Puttita Supajirakul and Sapsiree Taerattanachai winning the women’s doubles title in that same year. And Ratchanok Intanon won the women’s singles title in 2013 and came back to win it again in 2017.


29 September - 04 October 2015, Bangkok, Thailand