CROWN GROUP Australian Open 2018

08 - 13 May

QUAYCENTRE, Sydney, Australia

CROWN GROUP Australian Open 2018 History & Historical Results

The Australia Open is an HSBC BWF World Tour Super 300 tournament and is one of only two Tour tournaments in the Oceania region. Sydney plays host to the tournament the week after the New Zealand Open. The Australian Open has a long history going back to the late 1980's and Sydney, and the tournament attracts the world’s top players to venture "down-under" for an Australian badminton experience.    

The Australian Open, has a long history however the modern era began in 1989 when all five disciplines of the sport were played.  

Between 1989 - 2008, the Australian Open was equivalent to a BWF International Series tournament and was played in different venues around Australia but mainly in the State of Victoria.  From 2009 - 2011 the event was held at the Melbourne Sports and Aquatic Centre and from 2009 - 2010 it was a BWF Grand Prix level with prize money of US$50,000 and then reaching a Grand Prix Gold level in 2011 with prize money of US$120,000.

From 2012 onwards, Sydney became the home for the Australian Open and this was a highly desirable destination for the world’s top players. The Australian Open maintained its Grand Prix Gold status from 2012-2013, and was played in the Sydney Exhibition and Convention Centre in Darling Harbour in downtown Sydney.  

From 2014-2017, the Australian Open was upgraded to a Superseries status with prize money of US$750,000 and was held at the Sydney Olympic Park Sports Centre. The only BWF World Superseries event in the Oceania region, the tournament became a popular edition to the 12 leg BWF World Superseries ending in 2017.


26 - 31 May 2015, Sydney, Australia


24 - 29 June 2014, Sydney, Australia