Smashing Stats: Malaysia Masters 2024

The Super 500 PERODUA Malaysia Masters 2024, founded in 2009, is into its 15th edition.

Learn some interesting facts about the tournament.

  • China have 13 titles (joint highest with Indonesia) but are yet to conquer men’s singles and doubles.
  • They also have most titles in women’s singles (4) and can stretch the dominance with three seeded players (No.1 Han Yue, No.2 Wang Zhi Yi and No.6 Zhang Yi Man) fronting their charge.
  • Korea are the only country to produce winners at the preceeding four editions.
  • No nation has dominated a discipline like Indonesia in men’s doubles. They won five of the latest seven Malaysia Masters.
  • They also have six overall titles in the event, two more than any country.
  • Malaysia last took men’s doubles in 2013 through Goh V Shem/Lim Khim Wah and women’s doubles a year earlier via Chin Eei Hui/Wong Pei Tty.
  • The expectation of ending that wait will fall on seeds in both categories – Aaron Chia/Soh Wooi Yik (1) and Pearly Tan/Thinaah Muralitharan (2).
  • Tan/Muralitharan’s HSBC BWF World Tour titles have only come in Europe (Swiss Open 2021, French Open 2022).
  • Mixed pair Tan Kian Meng/Lai Pei Jing are the most recent home shuttlers to be victorious (2017).
  • If they win their third title, Ratchanok Intanon or Pusarla V. Sindhu will become the second most successful singles player behind local icon Lee Chong Wei, who has five.
  • Viktor Axelsen is the only top seed with prior triumph.
  • Six other former titlists in the draw are Ng Ka Long Angus, Chico Aura Dwi Wardoyo, Busanan Ongbamrungphan, Goh V Shem, Kim Gi Jung and Chan Peng Soon.
  • Goh, Kim or Chan can emulate Zheng Si Wei – the final player to win the same category with a second partner. Zheng repeated his 2016 success with Li Yin Hui four years later with Huang Ya Qiong.

Standout Stat: The last seven men’s singles titles went to players from seven nations.

Wardoyo celebrates winning in 2022.

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor