Indonesia Masters: Former Champs Face Off in Opener

Former Indonesia Masters champions Kento Momota and Shi Yu Qi have been drawn to face each other in the opening round of this edition of the tournament

Shi was winner in 2016, while Momota won the title in 2021.

The former world No.1 and No.2, who clashed in numerous high-profile matches including the World Championships final in 2018, have slipped down the rankings in recent times (Momota is No.18, Shi is No.33).

Shi, originally in the qualifying draw, was promoted to the main draw due to the withdrawal of Rasmus Gemke, who suffered an injury at the YONEX SUNRISE India Open last week.

The men’s singles finalists at the India Open, Kunlavut Vitidsarn and Viktor Axelsen, too withdrew, and were replaced by Sitthikom Thammasin and Wong Hong Yang respectively.

Yuta Watanabe/Arisa Higashino, mixed doubles champions at the India Open, also withdrew.

The players/pairs promoted to the main draw are:

Women’s Singles

1.Clara Azurmendi (in place of Chen Yu Fei)

2.Aakarshi Kashyap (in place of Lalinrat Chaiwan)

Men’s Doubles

1.Ishaan Bhatnagar/Sai Pratheek (Goh Sze Fei/Nur Izzuddin)

2.Yong Jin/Na Sung Seung (Lu Ching Yao/Yang Po Han)

3.Chaloempon Charoenkitamorn/Nanthakarn Yordphaisong (MR Arjun/Dhruv Kapila)

4.Sabar Karyaman Gutama/Moh Reza Pahlevi Isfahani (Jeppe Bay/Lasse Moelhede)

Women’s Doubles

1.Tanisha Crasto/Ashwini Ponnappa (Mayu Matsumoto/Wakana Nagahara)

2.Tan Ning/Xia Yu Ting (Gabriela Stoeva/Stefani Stoeva)

3.Ng Tsz Yau/Tsang Hiu Tan (Zheng Yu/Du Yue)

4.Allison Lee/Francesca Corbett (Shruti Mishra/Sikki Reddy)

Mixed Doubles

1.Mathias Thyrri/Amalie Magelund (Terry Hee/Tan Wei Han)

2.Alexander Lindeman/Josephine Wu (Mikkel Mikkelsen/Rikke Soby)

3.Vinson Chiu/Jennie Gai (Yuta Watanabe/Arisa Higashino)

BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor