Close Win for Jordan/Oktavianti – Korea Open 2019: Day 1

Praveen Jordan and Melati Daeva Oktavianti won a thrilling opening round match over Marcus Ellis and Lauren Smith at the Korea Open 2019 today.

Although the Indonesians won in straight games, it was a tight affair all through. The two pairs were neck-and-neck from 13-all in both games. The English pair had three game points in the first game and two in the second; unluckily for them, their opponents converted their own first opportunities to take the match 24-22 23-21.

World Junior champion Kunlavut Vitidsarn made the main draw.

Jordan and Oktavianti’s compatriots Tontowi Ahmad and Winny Oktavina Kandow could not join them in the second round as they were unlucky to draw unstoppable Chinese Zheng Si Wei/Huang Ya Qiong. The Indonesians challenged the world champions in the opening game, even holding a 17-14 lead, before their opponents stormed past, 21-19 21-11.

“Actually, in the first game we were able to hold our pattern. But we were not focused and not consistent, so we lost the lead. We need to be more cunning to find points. From 5-all points we fell behind 5-12 (in the second game). That mindset must be reversed,” Ahmad was quoted as telling

“In my opinion, the obstacle is in the focus. Today’s match is a lesson for us. We haven’t played them earlier either. We have to be smart to find points, we shouldn’t be monotonous,” said Ahmad.

In another first round clash, Chris Adcock/Gabrielle Adcock blew past French duo Thom Gicquel/Delphine Delrue 21-11 21-12.

Qualifying round action saw world junior champion Kunlavut Vitidsarn seal his place in the main draw with a 21-19 21-15 result over Chinese Taipei’s Huang Ping-Hsien. Interestingly, Vitidsarn takes on world champion Kento Momota in the first round.

Others to join Vitidsarn in the main draw from qualifying were Lu Chia Hung (Chinese Taipei), Kim Donghun (Korea) and Zhao Jun Peng (China).

Three Koreans qualified in women’s singles – Kim Hyo Min, Sim Yu Jin and Jeon Jui, along with Chinese Taipei’s Pai Yu Po.

Denmark’s Niclas Nohr/Sara Thygesen qualified in mixed doubles, alongside Korea’s Choi Solgyu/Shin Seung Chan and Kang Min Hyuk/Kim Hye Jeong, and Chinese Taipei’s Wang Chi-Lin/Cheng Chi Ya.


BWF World Tour News

Title Sponsor